Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Paula Wynne's picture
Paula Wynne

Pinned 4 months 3 weeks ago onto My Books

$2.99
A-Z Writers' Character Quirks

Source: http://getBook.at/a-z-writers-character-quirks

A~Z Writers’ Character Quirks: A~ Z of Behaviours, Foibles, Habits, Mannerisms & Quirks for Writers’ to Create Fictional Characters. Download your Free Chapters!

Free Chapters

Get your free chapters now!

Creating Characters

Creating real fictional character is one of the most important steps in writing a novel.

When you write a novel, the first thing to learn is how to create fictional characters, from heroes and heroines, to baddies and villains and other minor characters. Without a compelling character you don’t have a story! Whether they will be an animated object, toy or animal, a monster, alien or fantasy fabrication or real human beings, they need to be fully developed with emotions, flaws, hurts and habits or quirks.

But even if a writer creates an archetype character, a fictional person from a star sign, or a hero or heroine from the enneagram types, they must end up being a character with personality. You have to give them unique traits and characteristic to make them real and not a walking cardboard. After you've started with a basic character and then added ‘real flesh’ to your character’s bones with different personality traits and emotions, you’ll need to put a lot of thought, research and time into developing a fully-fledged individual. Another way to ensure your characters are like real people is to give them habits and quirks.

One of the hardest and most satisfying parts of writing is making your characters fully alive so your readers can recognise them, visualise them, believe in them and care about them. And worry about them so much that they keep turning the pages to see what happens to the character and how they cope with the plots twists thrown at them.

Of course, this requires careful use of story events, flashbacks, memories and dialogue. Along with disorders, traits, past hurts and personality flaws, it's also helpful to flesh characters out with distinctive quirks and habits to make them memorable and distinctive.

Don't Just Create A Character ~ Create A Memorable Fictional Person

Quirks and habits serve several purposes in fiction. Inside, bestselling author of Pimp My Fiction, Paula Wynne explains a few major uses for character habits and quirks:
• Bringing Characters to Life with Quirks and Habits
• Identifying Characters
• Defining Character
• Creating Conflict
• Habits and Quirk Shifts


As part of the Writers’ Resource Series, the A~Z of Writers's Character Quirks will give you a long list of Behaviours, Foibles, Habits, Mannerisms & Quirks in easy to find alphabetical order to help you create memorable fictional characters.

 

 

Comments
Leave your comment below
The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
Pinned onto the category

Books

Elixa - Prequel To The Luna LegacyEmail Marketing For AuthorsBook Marketing For AuthorsBook Promotion for Authors101 Writers’ Scene SettingsFor fans of Psychological ThrillersA Historical Conspiracy Thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Kate MosseThe Sacred Symbol Historical Mystery ThrillerPimp My FictionAbout The Grotto's SecretPeoples Book Prize Winner
The Luna Legacy - A Historical Mystery Thriller
Originally pinned by

Paula Wynne

Find out when new Thrillers are published
Grab your FREE historical thriller
Paula Wynne's Newsletter
Pinned onto the board

My Books

Book Selling for Authors
Book Marketing For Authors
Pimp My Site
Win A Copy of Flying Without Wings
The Luna Legacy - A Historical Mystery Thriller
A Historical Conspiracy Thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse

Keep In Touch

Join my VIP mailing list to receive the latest news about upcoming releases and special offers just for subscribers!

Sign up to Paula Wynne's news to find out more about her books

Let's Connect!

 Follow Paula Wynne on Goodreads

Scroll to top