The Sacred Symbol

Book 2 in The Torcal Trilogy
2.99

Historical Mystery Thriller for fans of Dan Brown and Kate Mosse

The Sacred Symbol Historical Mystery Thriller

The Sacred Symbol is the second book in the Torcal Trilogy and follows the award-winning The Grotto's Secret.

July 1492, Palos de la Frontera, Spain

Disguised as a man, Ana-María de Carbonela is on the run from the queen’s soldiers who tortured and killed her mother. She overhears Columbus' sailors preparing a mutiny, but before she can warn him, and convince him to write a journal detailing his privileges from Queen Isabella, she is captured.

When her Jewish tutor is caught and punished for rescuing her, she has a terrible decision to make: Save him ... but risk the death penalty for dressing as a man.

The Sacred Symbol is the second book in the Torcal Trilogy and follows the award-winning The Grotto's Secret.

July 1492, Palos de la Frontera, Spain

Disguised as a man, Ana-María de Carbonela is on the run from the queen’s soldiers who tortured and killed her mother. She overhears Columbus' sailors preparing a mutiny, but before she can warn him, and convince him to write a journal detailing his privileges from Queen Isabella, she is captured.

When her Jewish tutor is caught and punished for rescuing her, she has a terrible decision to make: Save him ... but risk the death penalty for dressing as a man.

"The Sacred Symbol draws you in from the first few pages and kept you wanting to know what was coming next." - Thomas Smith

"Absolutely loved this book ! Having greatly enjoyed The Grottos Secret, I was pleasantly surprised that this book was totally different but was expertly linked to the first book. Great characters and a must-read. Cannot wait for the third book. Loved the historical content. I tip my hat to Paula Wynne." Gdhm

"This book will appeal to readers who enjoy symbol mysteries (The Da Vinci Code etc.), crime thrillers and historical stories, and perhaps romances, although as there is quite of violence, perhaps not all romance fans!

The story has two threads which are very cleverly interwoven, a present day murder mystery which includes following up clues to find a historical document and an adventure set in 1492, which explains the origins of the document.

There has obviously been a huge amount of research carried out by Paula Wynne into the historical basis of the story, and there is a lot of genuine history woven into the story.

The plot is extremely well written, and the characters are all believable and three-dimensional.

This is a great book and a worthy successor to the first book in the series, 'The Grotto's Secret'. Although it is the second book in the series, it can quite easily be read as a stand-alone book." - Godiva 2000

The Sacred Symbol is Book 2 in the Torcal Trilogy, followed by The Luna Legacy. Elixa is the prequel to the trilogy, and the award-winning The Grotto's Secret is the first book in the trilogy.

Grab the full Torcal Trilogy series.

Related Content

  • Flying Without Wings - A World War II Thriller

    A young prisoner Johan Falkner swears revenge on the fleeing Nazis who have robbed him of so much.

  • All The Bridges We Cross

    Can a gentle French boatbuilder, amidst a world at war, cross the bridges that lead to heroism?

  • The Luna Legacy - A Historical Mystery Thriller

    Living as a man and pregnant with Christopher Columbus’s child, Ana-María de Carbonela is given a secret mission by Queen Isabella to find and protect an ancient secret.

  •  Madison Avenue by Paula Wynne and Jan Foster 700px

    Madison Avenue

    Review Copies

    Three countries. Two cousins. One dark secret, a killer will do anything to bury.

  • Elixa - Prequel To The Torcal Trilogy

    Elixa

    0.99

    Conspiracy, heresy, the might of the medieval church, a mysterious Moor, alchemy, a love-struggle and a touch of the supernatural. It's all woven into this story about a girl living at Abadía del Torcal.