Escape to the Continent Quest Achieves Life-long Dream for Writer

Escape to the Continent Quest Achieves Life-long Dream for Writer

Award-winning entrepreneur, Paula Wynne, who has been on BBC Radio and TV several times, has achieved her life-long dream to be a novelist by releasing her debut novel, The Grotto’s Secret.

As an award-winning entrepreneur and author of the Writers’ Resource Series, Paula has appeared on TV several times, including the BBC Show, Escape to the Continent, which showed her and her husband’s quest to live in Spain so Paula could become a full time writer.

Moving to Spain fulfilled Paula’s lifelong dream to write novels. During the hunt for their new home in rural Andalusia, Paula and her husband found a tranquil home with stunning views down the Valle del Guadalhorce towards Malaga and Marbella.

Apart from a white-washed village in the far distance, the valley is lush with green wheat fields and rolling hills, shadowed by layer upon layer of distant mountains. Paula’s first sight of the Guadalhorce Valley gave birth to the fictional location of The Grotto's Secret.

Paula said: ‘As I gazed at the stunning view, a medieval character just popped into my head and I could see her in that landscape. She was so real and had a story to tell.’

While they waited for the house deeds to go through, Paula wrote feverishly to finish the book. She had a group of beta readers standing by to read the first draft. Using their advice and feedback, Paula did another re-write before the book was ready to be edited and published by Prado Press.

Now as The Grotto's Secret gains new readers who love conspiracy thrillers with a historical mystery twist, Paula is ‘thrilled’ to hear that her readers describe the book as a ‘must’ for fans of Glenn Cooper, Kate Mosse and James Rollins. If you love an action-packed conspiracy thriller, download a sample from Amazon to see for yourself.

Paula’s life-long dream to be a novelist has come true thirty-five years after she first decided she would be a novelist. Harbouring a near-obsessive love of learning the craft of writing, Paula has been scribbling down the stories in her head ever since she can remember.

At the age of eighteen Paula used her first pay-check to buy a long distance writing course. Many years later she received an ‘Honourable Mention’ in the 75th Annual Writers Digest Writing Competition for two novels (written and not yet published), which inspired her to continue writing. Paula found every opportunity to be writing, such as 'behind the scenes' when she was a post-mistress at Chapel Row Post Office or spread out on a blanket watching her son play cricket.

As she has acquired a bookshelf of excellent reference books by highly acclaimed authors, Paula wrote Pimp My Fiction: Secrets of How to Write a Novel. This inspired a Writers’ Resource Series with 101 Writers’ Scene Settings and A~Z Writers’ Character Quirks.

Paula has written five non-fiction books, three are included in Paula's Writers' Resource Series.

Paula lives between Newbury and Spain and is currently in Sierra Blanquilla, in the foothills of the Sierra del Torcal, writing two more thrillers.

Media Centre

Praise for The Grotto's Secret

Paula's Novel

The Grotto's Secret Book Trailer
Images of Paula with The Grotto's Secret
The Grotto's Secret